

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 2, 2017 Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Carrie Partch to Receive the 2018 Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Carrie Partch, Associate Professor in the Department of Physical and Biological Sciences, University of California, Santa Cruz, will receive the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award. She will be honored at the Society's 62nd Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California, on Tuesday, February 20, during the Awards Symposium. Partch will also give a short talk at that time.

Partch is being recognized for her ground-breaking combination of biophysics and cell biology that is defining how protein conformational changes control circadian clock timing. The Dayhoff Award honors the memory of Margaret Dayhoff, former President of the Biophysical Society, and is given to a woman who holds very high promise or has achieved prominence while developing the early stages of a career in biophysical research within the purview and interest of the Biophysical Society.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit <u>www.biophysics.org</u>.

OFFICERS

President Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Betsy Komives **Early Careers** Bert Tanner Education Gina MacDonald Finance Kalina Hristova Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado International Relations Daumantas Matulis **Member Services** Frances Separovic Membership Juliette Lecomte Nominating Art Palmer **Professional Opportunities** for Women (CPOW) Gabriela Popescu **Public Affairs** Edward Egelman **Publications Olaf Anderson** Thematic Meetings **Richard Aldrich**